MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

August 21, 2014

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session August 21, 2014 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Absence was Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the regular meeting for July 17, 2014 were read and approved as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Mark Underwood, Anne Tarski, Wade Carpenter, Ismael Martinez, Derek Sandoval, Jesus J. Martinez, Jr., Karen Baen, Jesus Suarez, Margot Mata, and Gilbert Bermea. Also present was Shannon Gammill, Dr. Paul Sorrels from SRSU-RGC, and from the Uvalde Leader News was Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons – none

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the financial statement as of July 31, 2014 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the Associate of Science in Engineering Science Degree Program. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to accept the certification tax roll values subject to properties under protest. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to place on the agenda of a future meeting, a proposal to adopt a tax rate of 0.13 per 100 valuation as an action item. Motion passed. Record vote was taken - all present voting – For - 5 (Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Victor Lopez, Maria Elena Lara, Anita Shackelford and Tony T. Moreno) Nay – 0, Abstention - Dr. Antonio H. Rivera. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to schedule two public hearings on the proposed tax rate. The first will be scheduled for September 4, 2014 and the second one for September 11, 2014. Both hearings will be scheduled to start at 12:00 p.m.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the ORP matching contribution rate. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

There were no Del Rio Construction Project change orders.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 7:25 p.m. to consider:

- A. Employees: Terminated/Resigned/Retired/New Hires/Transfers
- B. Discuss personnel matters

Upon returning to open session at 8:00 p.m.:

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to appoint Abel Ortiz as Division Chair of Social and Behavioral Sciences. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the employment status changes recommended by the Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to accept the Ray Woolworth Estate gift in the amount of \$578,586; with 20% going towards scholarships and the remaining 80% being used for construction improvements on educational facilities at the board's discretion with no restrictions. Also, Dr. Gonzales extended a sincere thank you on behalf of Southwest Texas Junior College to Ray and Anna Woolworth for their most generous gift to the college that will benefit many students from their generosity. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Today's meeting was closed in honor of Dr. Blaine Bennett for his many years of dedicated service to Southwest Texas Junior College.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:15 p.m.

	Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board	

Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness